The High Road

If there is anything I have learned over the past year it is to cease the negative thinking.  Last year, at this time, I caught my brother stealing money from our mother.  I was incensed.  Our sister tried to confront him.  He ran away leaving us to sort out the mess.

Needless to say, it was a rough year.  We have put my mom’s finances in order so she is alright.  That only leaves the issue of my brother.  We have not heard from him in nearly a year (an admission of guilt by omission?).  I am longer upset by his antics as time does heal.  My sister is very angry still and would love to question him.

I have let it all go.  My mom and I are better off.  Sometimes, you have to allow the bad to fall away to make room for something better.  I can, even, go so far as to say, ‘I hope he gets the help he needs’.

As you can not make someone else happy, you cannot force honesty and kindness on others either.  The best you can do is be happy you do not have to live inside his head.  I shall take the high road.

Leave a Reply

