The Engineer’s Child

My Dad was a professional engineer (he passed away in 2010) and being the type (as are all engineers) to want to take things apart, I never thought we had much in common.  There were similar traits such as sense of humour and a love of books but as he was into science and maths I always assumed we would never have a meeting of the minds.

Only the other day it was pointed out to me that engineer’s like to figure out how things work.  I knew this, of course, as my Dad was constantly tinkering with something or other.  I never made the connection between his love of knowing how material things work and my love of figuring out how the mind works.  The principles are the same.  The research, the book learning and the trail and error experiments; all of it are what come naturally.

So, thanks Dad for the curious mind.

Leave a Reply

